Arc pg 5 7-13-17

The Arc Quinebaug Valley recently celebrated an evening of appreciation at their Annual Meeting & Awards Night. More than family members, friends, community supporters, Arc Board Members, staff and participants in their many programs that support individuals with intellectual, developmental and other life-affecting disabilities.
The theme of the evening represented perseverance. Regardless of the fiscal obstacles that have stood in the way of this nonprofit human service agency due to the state budget, The Arc continues to be steadfast in their goals and aspirations for the future.
Executive Director Susan Desrosiers said: “Although The Arc has continuously faced budget hardships, we persevere and continue to deliver exceptional services to meet the needs of those we support. We are deeply committed to maintaining the success of this agency and overcoming the tough times together, and for that, there is reason to celebrate! For over 65 years, The Arc has been a life-line for individuals with life-affecting disabilities and their families. The Arc has truly been blessed by such a positive light that surrounds us and we always look forward to celebrating our many accomplishments over the year at Awards Night.”
Receiving awards that evening included Wayne Coolidge for the Spirit Award, Annette Grenier for the Dove Award for her advocacy efforts, and a Volunteer Award was given to Joan Fox for all of her help at the agency over the years. Pam Brown received The Norma Cassettari Award for her commitment to the Mission of The Arc.  Heather Motyl was presented the Ronald D. Johnson Memorial Award for her determination to inspire and promote love and peace amongst all around her this past year. Achievement Awards were given to Laura Leroux, Steven Brunelle, Shawn Smith, MaryAnn Laferriere and Roy Ciak. Kathy Lawless was presented the Everett O’Keefe Award and Nicki Rizner was given the Self Advocacy Award. From the community, Dunkin’ Donuts was awarded the Community Partnership Award for their partnership with The Arc. Rawson Materials received the Community Support Award for their continued support and generosity to the agency. A Special Appreciation Award was also displayed in honor of Al Berger, a near and dear friend of The Arc for many years, who sadly passed in April. Employer Awards were given to Seely-Brown Village & Up Top Screen Printing for providing opportunities for individuals with disabilities to participate in a work environment. Shannon Jacovino, Director of Public Policy & Advocacy of The Arc Connecticut, received a Special Recognition Award for her advocacy work in promoting the rights of individuals with intellectual and developmental disabilities for many years.
Other staff recognized included Makenzi Kaylor, Linda Charron, Phil Hill, Norman Renaud, Candra Desabre, Nikki Williams, Michelle Pepin, Suzette Lathrop, Jenn Buell and Frank Whitehead.
RocketTheme Joomla Templates