Pomfret pg 2 8-3-17

POMFRET — The Pomfret Democratic Town Committee recently nominated a full slate of candidates for the upcoming 2017 Municipal Elections:
Maureen Nicholson was nominated for First Selectman. Nicholson served as first selectman from 2012 until 2015 and was on the Board of Selectmen before that. In addition to three years as Pomfret’s chief executive, Nicholson has more than 25 years of service on various boards and commissions in town including chairman of the Board of Finance. For Board of Selectmen is Patrick McCarthy, a 25-year resident of the town. He is an administrator and schoolteacher.
For full term on the Board of Education the party nominated incumbent Valerie May and newcomer Leigh Grossman. Incumbent Sara DiIorio will run to fill a two-year vacancy on the same board. For the Board of Finance, incumbent Debi Thompson and lifelong Pomfret resident Dayna Flath were nominated. Incumbents Bev Champany and Ray Wishart were nominated for the Planning & Zoning Commission.  Wishart is also candidate for the Board of Assessment Appeals. Nick Fulchino and Dan Kellaway are fresh faces on the ballot and will be running for the Zoning Board of Appeals along with Mary Wishart, who is running to fill the alternate position. For Library Board of Trustees, Democrats nominated Christine Kalafus, Cris Cadiz, and Gary Sturni. The Democrats then endorsed four candidates for town constable: Jenn Trayner, Dan Bastura, Bill Wolfe and newcomer Brad Belanger. Cheryl Grist was nominated for Town Treasurer.
Election Day is Nov. 7. Polls will be open at Pomfret Community School from 6 a.m. to 8 p.m.
RocketTheme Joomla Templates