Woodstock pg 9 12-7-17

WOODSTOCK — More than 325 athletes from all 16 Woodstock Academy fall sports offerings were honored for their participation at the annual Fall Sports Awards nigh.
Athletes were not only honored for their athletic endeavors but also their academic acumen.
The program with the highest cumulative grade point average was the girls’ soccer team at 3.406, just 24/100th’s better than the girls’ cross-country team at 3.382. Third place belonged to the field hockey team at 3.377.
The Eastern Connecticut Conference also recognized top scholars this season. Those chosen from Woodstock Academy for the award included Gabriella Bessette (cheerleading), Chris Cheney (boys’ cross-country), Eden Law (girls’ cross-country), Charlotte Powell (field hockey), Nathan Price (football), Ethan Werstler (boys’ soccer), Ciri Miller (girls’ soccer) and Rebekah Wesler (volleyball).
The fall coaches’ awards were:
Varsity Cheerleading: Savannah Henault, Ava Hassell
Varsity boys cross-country: Dan Crème, Kenneth Birlin.
JV boys’ cross-country: Noah Pepper
Varsity girls cross-country: Stella DiPippo, Emily McClure
JV girls’ cross-country: Shannon D’Alessandro
Varsity field hockey: Lindsey O’Dea, Avery Jones
JV field hockey blue team: Lauren Neely
JV field hockey gold team: Kate Boshka
Varsity football: Luis Miranda, Kameron Janice
Froshmore football: Adam Schimmelpfennig
Varsity boys’ soccer: Cole Hackett, Connor Huda
JV boys’ soccer: Grayson Walley
Freshman boys’ soccer: Merlin Zhang
Varsity girls’ soccer: Hallie Saracina, Brynn Kusnarowis
JV girls’ soccer A: Mikayla Wilcox
JV girls’ soccer B: Julianna Hobbs
Unified soccer: Emmalee Binette
Varsity volleyball: Denali Johns, McKenna Gagnon
JV volleyball: Diana Gonzalez
Freshman volleyball: Megan Kelly.
Patches were also given to those who received recognition from the Eastern Connecticut Conference.
Athletes who made first team All-ECC included Hannah Matsas and Stella Dipippo (girls’ cross-country); Cole Hackett, Jacopo Ambrosetti, and Jack Gelhaus (boys’ soccer); Maddy Gronski, Paula Hernandez,  and Natalie Low (volleyball); Kennedy Davignon and Ivy Gelhaus (girls’ soccer) and Kameron Janice (football).
ECC honorable mention patches were given to Brynn Kusnarowis and Irene Askitis (girls’ soccer); Hannah Reynolds and Wanjiru Gatheru (field hockey); Ethan Holcomb (boys’ soccer); Caroline Eaton and Sammie Orlowski (volleyball).
ECC championship patches were also given to the girls’ soccer and volleyball teams. It was the first ECC tournament championship for the girls’ soccer program.
ECC sportsmanship awards were given to Brooke Deorsey (cheerleading); Jared Law (boys’ cross-country); Megan Gohn (girls’ cross-country); Julia Bibeault (field hockey); Blake Kollbeck (football); William Schad (boys’ soccer); Linda St. Laurent (girls’ soccer) and Hannah Walley (volleyball). 
Marc Allard
Sports Information Director

RocketTheme Joomla Templates