Shawn Kettle of Putnam EMS received the Gerald Lapointe Award from the Putnam Lions.  Steve and Marge Townsend also won the Lapointe Award. Courtesy photo.
PUTNAM — The Putnam Lions recently presented awards and installed new officers.
The Membership Key award was presented to Lion Dianne Tremblay for bringing in two new members.  The Membership Advancement award was given to Lion Lea Therrien for bringing in five new members.
Lion Amy Franklin presented The Ambassador of Sight award to Lion Al Cormier.  The Ambassador of Sight Award is from the Lions Low Vision Center of Eastern CT and is given to recognize outstanding service to the organization and those we serve.  It symbolizes the attributes of generosity, compassion and concern for others.  
The L Gerald Lapointe Award is given to an a person or persons outside of the Lions organization.  The award to is to recognize volunteerism at its best and a commitment to the community.  The 2015 award was presented to Steve and Marge Townsend for being instrumental in building the new emergency room at Day Kimball Hospital.  The 2016 award was presented to Putnam EMS for all they do for our community.  The award was accepted by Shawn Kettle.
Finally, the Jerry Richards Award was presented to Lion Rick Bennett and Lion Ed Briere for their tireless effort in ensuring the Lion’s Trailer was up and running smoothly throughout the years.  This award is given to a member or members, past or present, who have outstanding service to the club.
The new officers were installed by Past District Governor Armand LaFleur.  The new officers are as follows:  Sheila Coderre as Lion Tamer, Leia Faucher as Tail Twister, Francis Gregoire and Armand LaFleur as Membership Chairs, Leia Faucher as 3rd Year Board Director, Lea Therrien as 2nd Year Board Director and Romeo Blackmar as 1st Year Board Director, Stephen Faucher as 3rd Vice President, Lea Therrien as 2nd Vice President and Romeo Blackmar as 1st Vice President, Mel Cassio as Treasurer, Deb Barbour as Secretary and Paulette Blagburn as President.
RocketTheme Joomla Templates