District pg 3 7-22-21


District #4 Award winners at the 102nd Connecticut Department American Legion Convention. The recipients, from left: Putnam Police Chief Chris Ferace; Michael Vassar Post #13; Frank Poirier Post #101; Charles Crowley Post #21; Ronald P. Coderre District #4 Commander; Jim George Post #14; Perry Caldwell Post #26; Victor J. Kratz Post #13; Capt. Justin Lussier, Putnam Police Department. Courtesy photo.

PUTNAM — At a recent American Legion convention Putnam walked away with four awards.
Counting those three, the Legion Department of Connecticut District #4, which covers Windham and Tolland counties, won 13 post or individual awards, according to District #4 outgoing Commander Ronald P. Coderre of Post #13 – Putnam.
Coderre received the prestigious Henry Mayer Award based on the District’s overall performance especially in the area of membership.  District #4 was the only District of the seven districts in the Department of Connecticut to achieve more than 100 percent of its membership quota.
Victor J. Kratz of Putnam Post #13 was honored with the Peter Loux “Sergeant-at-Arms of the Year” Award for his dedicated service to American Legion, community, state and nation.
The Putnam Police Department, represented by Chief Christopher Ferace and Captain Justin Lussier, received the Police Department of the Year Award.  The award recognized the Department’s performance in the field of Children and Youth, Drug Education, community awareness projects and participation in patriotic observations.
Post #13 Commander Michael Vassar received the 100 percent membership citation from Department Commander Jeffrey DeClerck.
The Dobosz-Ertel-Laboc-Hanssen Post #14 of Rockville and Commander Jim George accounted for six of the 13 awards.  Commander George received the Recruiter of the Year, Edward Carney Jr. Award, National Gold Brigade Award, and Louis Molinaro Commander of the Year Award.  Commander George was responsible for recruiting 53 new members to the Post, and establishing a Post membership of 427 members.  The Post received the Elliot N. Morris and Frank H. Butterworth awards for exceeding its membership quota.
 “District #4 developed a great group of officers and members that worked together as a team, bringing success to all the programs and events we endeavored.  It was a wonderful group to be a part of and to share success as a team,” said Commander Coderre.
Charles Crowley, commander of Post #21 Danielson, received the Department’s top honor when he was recognized with the Legionnaire of the Year Award.  Crowley assumed the role of commander of Post #21 three years ago and took the post, which was inactive, and revived the membership.  The Post was one of six 100 percent posts in District #4 this year.  Under Crowley’s leadership the Post now boasts an active Color Guard, sponsors an Oratorical contest annually, supports Boys’ State and American Legion baseball and is active in the community in patriotic and memorial events.
The Boyd Saxton Award was presented to Perry Caldwell of Post #26 Stafford Springs.  The award is presented to the Post and/or District Chaplain who exhibited spiritual guidance and performed the most duties of their office.  Caldwell is the District chaplain as well as serving in the same capacity for Post #26.   
Frank Poirier of Post #101 Somers was awarded the Neale V. Cabral Plaque as the Post Adjutant of the year.  Post #101 also received the Howard I. Jacobs Award as the medium sized (101-300 members) Post to reach membership quota.
“It’s been rewarding to serve as District #4 Commander for the past two years.  Despite the rural nature of our area, the 13 Posts in the District came together to form a cohesive, dedicated and successful unit,” said Coderre.
The Posts in District #4 are: Post #13 Putnam; Post #14 Rockville; Post #19 Willimantic; Post #26 Stafford Springs; Post #52 Coventry/Mansfield; Post #62 Ellington; Post #67 North Grosvenordale; Post #91 Moosup; Post #95 Hebron; Post #101 Somers; Post #111 Woodstock; Post #203 Eastford.


RocketTheme Joomla Templates