PHS pg 5 11-30-17

PUTNAM — The Putnam High School Wall of Honor was established in 2016 as a way of creating a lasting tribute to those individuals who have brought honor to themselves, the school and their communities.  These are Putnam High School alumni and other individuals associated with the school who have distinguished themselves in life.
The inaugural induction ceremony was May 6.  The initial class of inductees included Gertrude Chandler Warner, an author known for “The Boxcar Children” series and a longtime teacher inducted posthumously.
Also inducted posthumously were business person and education advocate Rose Bove LaRose and former governor of Connecticut John N. Dempsey.  The two remaining inductees were William H. Mansfield III, who forged a career in the U.S. Foreign Service and former Putnam Mayor and current 51st Assembly District State Representative Daniel S. Rovero.
The committee is currently seeking nominations for its second class, which will be inducted on May 5.
In order to be considered, a nominee must have attended Putnam High School or distinguished themselves in service to the school.  The individual must have demonstrated leadership, character and service to society and have been recognized in their area of specialization or received honors, awards or other recognition.
Any nominee must have left Putnam High School a minimum of five years prior to being considered for nomination. They must exemplify the highest standards of citizenship, ethical conduct and character.  Nominations for posthumous awards will be accepted and are encouraged.
“The committee was encouraged by the number of nominations submitted in the first year of the program.  It received many outstanding names of individuals of the highest character,” said Ronald P. Coderre, committee chairman. “We’re encouraging anyone who knows of outstanding alumni or others involved with the school to submit nominations,” he added.
Once an individual’s name is placed in nomination it will remain on file for consideration a total of five years.  Nomination forms for the upcoming class may be acquired by contacting the office of the Superintendent of Schools or committee secretary Susan Johnston at susanjohnston@  Forms are also available at WINY Radio and RPC Associates, 66 Main St., Putnam. The deadline for submission of applications is Dec. 31 In addition to Chairman Coderre, the committee is composed of Nelson King, vice chairman; Jeanne Benoit, treasurer; and Johnston, secretary.  The remaining members of the committee are: Stu Neal, Lee Konicki, Robert Garceau, Sandra Ames and Dr. David Gaudreau.

RocketTheme Joomla Templates