Cam Robinson received the Firefighter of the Year award from the Pomfret fire department. Courtesy photo.

POMFRET — Jan. 20 the Pomfret Fire Department held its annual Company Appreciation Dinner and marked its 84th Anniversary of the establishment.
Fire Company President Pat Boyd and Fire Chief Brett Sheldon recognized members for noteworthy actions during the year and for service to the department. In particular, 5 Year Service Awards were presented to: Captain Mike Dumouchel, Firefighter Donald Dunning, and firefighter Kaulman Lengyel. A 10 Year Service Award was presented to Assistant Chief Roy Hicks. The Fire Chief’s Award was presented to firefighter Scott Downer; the Company President’s Award was presented to Fire Police Captain Douglas Hopkins and the Firefighter of the Year Award was presented to Firefighter Cam Robinson.
More than 70 members, spouses and Life Members attended the celebration. The event opened with remarks from Boyd who recognized past chiefs and Life Members for their contributions to the company.  Boyd also thanked spouses for their support of the Fire Service.
First Selectman Maureen Nicholson thanked the department for the unselfish service to the Town of Pomfret. The blessing was offered by Department Chaplain Rev. James Kellaway. Fire Chief Sheldon reviewed the year and thanked members for all they do for the community.

RocketTheme Joomla Templates